Follow by Email


Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Stamps of the Princely States of India-Hyderabad

Osman Ali Khan, Asaf Jah VII, 10th Nizam of Hyderabad, GCSI, GBE, Royal Victorian Chain, MP (6 April 1886 - 24 January 1967). Granted the style of His Exalted Highness (1 January 1918), the title of Faithful Ally of the British Government (24 January 1918) and Nizam of Hyderabad and of Berar (13 November 1936). The last of the ruling Nizams; ruled absolutely from 31 August 1911 - 19 September 1948, when the state was formally annexed to the Union of India.

While many of the stamps of Hyderabad were variations on the seal of the Nizam in 1937 a small series was issued showing some of the government buildings of Hyderabad in honour of the last Nizam's silver jubilee. The values were 4 pies,8 pies, 1 anna and 4 annas. This small series of 4 stamps is reproduced below. (to enlarge please click on the illustrations then back page to return to the blog).

No comments:

Post a Comment