Follow by Email


Monday, February 6, 2012

Straits Settlements-1874-Queen Victoria-1 Cent coin-Illustrated

Illustrated below is the obverse and reverse of the 1874 1 Cent coin  issued for the Straits Settlements.
In 1826, the three Settlements of Penang, Malacca and Singapore were amalgamated to form the Straits Settlements. The capital was Penang until 1836, when it was transferred to Singapore. Later, the Cocos – Keeling Island, the Christmas Islands and Labuan were placed under the Government of the Straits Settlements. At this time, the main currencies used as the local medium of exchange were the Spanish Dollar, Dutch Doits and the Singapore merchant tokens.

In 1858, the British Government took over the Straits Settlements. During this period, the Straits Settlements was under the control of the Government of British India. In 1862, a new issue of one cent, half cent and quarter cent coins was made for use in the Straits Settlements, bearing in inscription “India Straits”. In 1867, the Straits Settlements were transferred to the Imperial Government in London, and on April 1, 1867, the Straits Settlements became a Crown Colony. The first series of coins bearing the inscription “Straits Settlement”, were issued in 1871with the last issue in 1935. Straits Settlements coins include those issued under the reigns if Queen Victoria (1837-1901), King Edward VII (1901-1910) and King George V (1910-1936).





1-ONE CENT 1883

1874  10,000,000 1 Cent coins were minted
Country Straits Settlements
Year 1874

1 Cent (0.01)
Metal Copper
Weight 9.3 g
Diameter 28.8 mm
Engraver Leonard Charles Wyon (obverse)
Shape Round
Alignment  obverse and reverse in reverse alignment
Edge Smooth


No comments:

Post a Comment